Segway is the only way

p>In my last post, I mentioned I’d been on a few adventures lately. And it’s true! I’ve been catching up on all the time I’ve spent holed up in the flat studying and comfort eating (to quite a serious extent, I caught myself staring at Animal Biology notes and eating a wheel of camembert cheese like it was a biscuit. It’s safe to say I’ve gained a few pounds.)

So me and my other half traipsed to one of the northernmost points of London – so far out that it doesn’t even feel or look like London any more – and headed to the RAF museum for 8.30 am. We set off at 7, this is how dedicated we were to this, particularly unusual, activity…

And it wasn’t to look at planes. I’m sure the museum is great, but I wouldn’t go that far, that early simply for a museum. Unless it was the museum of glitter, shiny things and chocolate.

But no, we were up because behind the museum there is a SEGWAY TRACK.

Just in case, for those not in the know, this is a Segway:Image

 

That’s right. The thing we’ve all seen on the TV and thought ‘how do they stay on it?’ Turns out its easier than one might think.

At first, I was slightly disappointed, as I thought the cones laid out on the concrete were the entirety of the track and that we’d just be going up and down the make shift corridors for the duration of the visit, but it turned out those were simply for training purposes.

However, before we were allowed anywhere near the segways, we had to sign liability waivers and don helmets, elbow pads, knee pads and a back protector of the kind mountain bikers wear. At first, this seemed like overkill, but soon I was dissuaded of this notion with quite a…well, a bump.

We were given the safety talks, then talked through a brief bit of Segway practise – driving them round and round cones at a slow right. Me and my other half were basically the youngest there, but everyone was having fun apart from one or two who struggled, at first, to steer the Segway. And at first it is strange, when you lean forward in order to move you do feel like you may topple over.

Any way, it didn’t take long before we were all led onto the actual dirt track, which was quite long, with lots of hills and bends. We were taken round it on a tour, before being let loose! Now, the Segways we had could go at 15mph – which, although exceedingly slow in a car, when standing on a pair of wheels feels really quite fast. It took time to get used to braking effectively, and making sure not to go flying down hills – but once you had it it was easy. Most of us were zooming around quite happily. At one point I did clip a tire and go flying – at which point I was very grateful for the knee and elbow pads, otherwise I feel I would have been sporting a few rather unpleasant bruises rather than just a couple of grazes. The guys running it were there in 2 seconds and had the Segway back and operational very quickly, and on with the show!

There were parts of the track where one could overtake, and even a harder hill for the more confident to try…

Everyone had at least 10 laps, maybe more, before leaving to allow the next group a shot.

It was certainly one of the more eventful mornings I’ve had, and something a bit fun and different to do that I would definitely recommend. It’s quite cheap, I did get mine with a voucher, but if you check the website (on the attractions page of this blog – under ‘Segrally’) there are lots of slots and courses around the country where you can give it a try!

segrally_logo<

Leave a Reply

