Earth Hour at Big Ben

I was going to go an witness this for myself, but unfortunately it’s snowing up a blizzard here and I suspect I won’t actually be able to get there. I also don’t have snow shoes or a hat, and therefore worry I might freeze.

Either way I felt I could inform you that it’s Earth Hour tonight! At 8.30pm, millions of people around the world – as well as several famous London landmarks – including Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye will be switching off their lighting…as far as I am aware, this is the only time of year that it actually happens.

Pretty iconic. Earth Hour is meant as a symbolic action and now spans 152 countries – so I think its an amazing show of solidarity and unity, if nothing else. I know i’ll be switching my lights off tonight. It’s arranged by the WWF, and meant to focus the world on our planet and it’s desperate need for protection…

I believe there will be live feeds online of several of the more prominent landmarks. I’m pretty gutted I can’t go to visit them myself, but by the time I got back I’d look like Frosty the Snowman, and let’s face it, that ain’t a good look. Or a comfortable one.

Any how, I hope you’re all very much having fun this weekend…

Houses-of-Parliament_Houses-of-Parliament-view_3027

I would love to take credit for this pic, but its from bestourism.com!

Leave a Reply

