The News…

I like to think generally these posts are pretty light hearted, and I apologise for the lack of ramblings or photos in the past couple of days – I’ve barely left the bed, being very lazy and very relaxed.

But today I was stirred from my stupor not by some fabulous day trip (fabulous, hmm, I’ll be wearing pink spandex and telling people to call me Darrius next) or some amazing new London find, but by a bit of news.

I know, the news. International news too, I do find myself reading actual newspapers from time to time. Poking my head above the turret of my little castle and whatnot. But I kind of wish I hadn’t.

I heard about someone called Lindsay Sandiford, who has just been sentenced to death in Bali for attempting to smuggle cocaine onto the island. She claimed her family was being threatened, which does have evidence to support it, and had suffered from mental illness previously – but these weren’t classed as mitigating factors.

Now I am not, by any means, saying that her actions are condonable, or that she shouldn’t be punished. But not even her prosecuting lawyers recommended such a harsh sentence. There’s been an outcry from charities and the UK government is reportedly objecting strongly. I just hope something is done.

There are appeal options open of course, but I was curious as to what other people thought of this story. I’m just saddened by her whole ordeal. Like I said, it’s not that I don’t think that she should be punished in some form…but surely not by death?

Although, I’m more or less against capital punishment on the whole any way. Possibly in the most heinous crimes, it’s a difficult subject – obviously…but yeah. What does anyone else think?

Leave a Reply

