Looking for my sunset

Image

 

This was a sunset at the end of my road; the photo was taken on my mobile. Despite perhaps not being the best photo in the world, it kind of inspired me. 

I’m not going to wax lyrical about the beauty in every little thing as such. I’m not going to go quite that far. But I do believe there is beauty in every day, in each moment, even if we don’t expect it or look for it. 

People come to London and pay a fortune to go to the top attractions; not that I blame them, I do too when I can afford it! But walking to a nearby supermarket, this sunset took me by surprise. I’m an old romantic at heart, I love your sunsets and sunrises, but usually it’s so cloudy in London that they’re often pretty unimpressive affairs. So this was a bit of an event for me.

And it got me thinking. Some of the best things this city has to offer, are free. The views for instance. The architecture. Doesn’t cost anything to go and ogle Buckingham Palace, or the Gherkin, or the Shard – which happens to be the tallest building in Western Europe, and in possession of a viewing platform that opens in February. You’ll definitely find me in line for that. 

I sometimes forget how much is free here, with it being one of the priciest cities in the world that tends to eclipse everything else to an extent. But I plan to venture to some museums next week. The British Museum – so obvious, and yet I’ve never been.

I know. Shame on me.

But a couple of other, better hidden ones as well. I may be in the same January monetary slump as everyone else, but that’s no excuse. 

I need to go looking for the sunset in every moment, instead of waiting for it to find me.

4 thoughts on “Looking for my sunset”

  1. Doesn’t cost anything to go and ogle Buckingham Palace, or the Gherkin, or the Shard – which happens to be the tallest building in Western Europe, and in possession of a viewing platform that opens in February. You’ll definitely find me in line for that.

    I don’t know… personally, I find the Shard to be one of the ugliest buildings in existence. I’m a sucker for a good tall observation deck though, so I’ll likely want to see it on my next visit to London.

    1. Well it depends when you go, when the sun hits it right we’re treated to a natural laser show almost – it really is pretty spectacular. But yes I was mainly mentioning it for the observation deck…and the fact it’s the tallest building, I guess I figure it’s worth looking at even just for those qualities. Ironically though, despite it being in the UK the architect is Italian, so I feel it’s more Italy’s victory than ours!

Leave a Reply

